How to lose weight, get that promotion or achieve any other goal you may have!

Action steps for setting and achieving any goal

As you guys now I have recently returned to work and I am now switching into business mode and preparing to go full force with my career.

In the spirit of new beginnings, I thought I would share with you guys the framework I use for goal setting. It’s something I picked up in grad school and I love it because it’s simple and straight forward.

This framework is not exclusively for career goals it could be used for health, fitness or personal goals. I used this framework when I set my goal to lose the 55 pounds I gained while pregnant with Sadie. It helped me successfully achieve my weight loss goal. The proof is in the pictures above!

So let’s get into it. The framework is called SMART which is an acronym for; specific, measurable, action, realistic and time bound. Get a piece of paper and pen and we can run through the framework together.

Specific- First step write down your goal and make sure it is specific and clear. Stay far away from general or ambiguous goals. A goal such as “be healthier” is too vague, while a goal like  “lose twenty pounds” is clear and well defined.

Measurable- The next step is finding a way to measure your goal. Measuring your progress works as a way to ensure that you’re on track. Write down all the ways you could measure your goal. Than chose the metric that would work best and I like to refer to these as my performance metrics.  An example of a performance metric for the example given above could be a weekly weight in.

Action- Next up, brain storming what needs to be done to achieve your goal. Write a list of the action points you will need to take to achieve your goal. An example of an action point using the weight loss example could be going to the gym 4 days a week.

Realistic- After you have defined your goal and made your list of performance metrics and action points review your work and ask yourself whether it is realistic or not. You want your goal to be somewhat of a challenge and stretch but not completely out of the realm of possibility.

Time bound- Lastly create a  deadline for your goal. You can also create a timeline that includes a number of mini deadlines if  if it’s needed. For example if you’re trying to lose weight you could have a mini deadlines for pounds loss each week and an overall total amount of pounds loss deadline.

Hope this framework helps. Its not ground breaking but its easy to use and more importantly works…so why recreate the wheel right?

Remember every big success is achieved one small step at time!

4 thoughts on “How to lose weight, get that promotion or achieve any other goal you may have!

Leave a Reply

